FUTURES sponsors

The 2022 Tomorrow’s Leaders class.

FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools is proud to announce the selection of 40 high school juniors to participate in the Tomorrow’s Leaders Program. This year marks 35 years of this program which develops young leaders for our community.

The students, representing all 10 public high schools, recently attended an orientation session. 

During the next six months, students will participate in five seminars designed to familiarize them with different aspects and services in Volusia County and to develop leadership skills.

The program includes lectures, presentations, discussions and physical tours of various businesses and governmental facilities. Seminar subjects will include: the arts; criminal justice and court system; economic development ; manufacturing; educational and governmental systems; leadership, diversity, and ethics; sports marketing; healthcare; and social services.

Tour sites

Hosts and tour sites include the Atlantic Center for the Arts, Boston Whaler, Daytona Tortugas at Jackie Robinson Ballpark, Daytona International Speedway & NASCAR, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Halifax Health Medical Center, Halifax Urban Ministries’ Hope Place, Houligan’s a Spirited Sports Grille, Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA), Seventh Judicial Circuit Judge Dawn Nichols’ Courtroom, SMA Healthcare’s Residential Adolescent Program, Volusia County Council Chambers, Volusia County Historic Courthouse, Volusia County Elections Department, and Volusia County Schools’ District Administrative Complex.

This year’s program sponsors include William & Linda Cuthbert, Houligan’s a Spirited Sports Grille and Rosaria C. Upchurch, Ph.D., LMFT of Upchurch Counseling & Therapy.

This year’s participants

Atlantic High School: James Begnoche, Gianluca Gutierrrez, Carlina Roberts and Sydney Sanford.

DeLand High School: Fidha Chowdhurt, Ella Eagan, Lauren Hill and Jaliyah Powell.

Deltona High School: Katie Berrios, Natalie Bradley and Jimmie Stone.

Mainland High School: Ana Chuven, Jade Long, Natalie Ramos, Lina Velez and Carson Wagner.

New Smyrna Beach High School: Samantha Jolley, Layla Reasin and Miracle Williams.

Pine Ridge High School: Sophie Headrick, Katherin Ruiz and Eddy Wilkinson.

Seabreeze High School: Kai BIe, Dante DiPietro, Peyton Domayer, Akshay Gupta, Delaney Kimble, Kayla Lancing and Haylee Ochipa.

Spruce Creek High School: Gia Bhatla, Selena Enoch, Jacob Friedman, Jenny Lui and Andrew Sadek.

T. Dewitt Taylor Middle-High School: Jocelyn Aguirre, Isabela Cosio and Kayden Duncan.

University High School: Rylee Amodeo, Fabiana Oyola and Alea Smith

The Tomorrow’s Leaders Program is presented by the FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, whose mission is to engage business and civic leaders to promote and achieve educational excellence for Volusia County Public Schools.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.